This project has moved. For the latest updates, please go here.

Writing a simple SNMP Get command-line program ?

Topics: usage (how to ...)
Jun 17, 2008 at 3:45 PM
Hi there.

Thank you so much for doing the work you do with the #SNMP library.  Having a simple DLL I can reference in my Visual Studio 2008 for C# is so much easier than messing around with the stuff that I saw for free online and since I'm a hobbiest programmer (possibly making the leap to something more meaningful in the future) the commercial libraries are a little out of my reach of course (often $500 to $1200).

If you could show me a simple program which does the following in command-line, it will give me the kick-start I need to get moving:

• Command-Line prompts user for an OID to specify (Console.Readline()) - I can do this
  • Command-Line prompts user for an IP address to specify (Console.Readline()) - I can do this 
  • Logic takes advantage of the libraries you built to do a simple SNMP Get (assume Int or String is the value - assume 500ms is the time-out) -- this is where I need help
  • Command-Line spits out the get result - I can do this

I just need a little jump start and I know this sounds very newbie-ish (I'm admitting that).  I'm sure I wouldn't be the only person would would find this helpful.  Even just well-commented C# code would be enough.  I'd find this primer infinitely valuable.  Tell me how much I should "donate" to make this happen :), thanks.

Jun 19, 2008 at 12:28 AM
Okay, never mind.  I didn't realize that the source code had an SNMPGET test case, so just used that to reference and I'm okay now.  This is extremely fast.  Really nice work!  I might have to do some playing around if there's time-out thresholds I can specify, so if you have any recommendations there (or could let me know what the default timeout threshold is - e.g. 240ms) that would be helpful. Marked as answer by lextm on 10/6/2013 at 9:16 PM
Coordinator
Jun 25, 2008 at 12:27 PM